loveyoueverything

Inspiration from the DVB Show.

Posted on: October 10, 2011

So I mentioned yesterday that I had been to the Designer Vintage Bridal Show in Birmingham.

Last year I went along and it was in Highbury Hall in Moseley – a beautiful venue but it seems that the DVB show has grown bigger and better and so needed a larger venue. Lucky me, it ended up being hosted at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground – just a mere hop, skip and a jump from my house! Not only that, I won tickets! Fate was my wedding planning friend.

It was fab to walk towards the Cricket Ground and to see beautiful camper vans, a vintage beetle and caravan outside, adorned with floral bunting. What a welcome sight! Inside, it was even more beautiful! Wall to wall vintage.

Mom and I immediately stopped at a lovely Travelling Traditional Sweet Shop – Emily’s Best – where we were both given a bag of sweets of our choice! I went for strawberry bonbons. I have no idea what Mother-Dear picked as I was too excited about scoffing down my tasty sweets :). We then travelled table to table marvelling at the gorgeous colours, collections of china and beautiful sparkly accessories.

We met lovely people too! It was such an honour to be able to meet bloggers in person. I have followed blogs avidly over the last year and it felt a little like I was meeting celebs so I was a tad shy but I’m glad I managed to say hi to some. I didn’t get to speak to Annabel of LoveMyDress but I did get to speak to Rock n Roll Bride (and Mr Rock n Roll Bride) and Kelly from The Boho Wedding Blog and felt ever so slightly stalkerish when saying ‘oh, yes, I know you – I follow you on twitter and read your blog all the time!’. Isn’t it weird?!!

The highlight for me as a wedding planning bride was meeting the ladies from Ava Event Styling. They were lovely. I chatted to them for a little while and told them of my concerns about having yellow as my main colour for my wedding. I told them of my back-up plan of green but they completely gushed over the yellow idea! I was so pleased! They felt that my plans for yellow would go really well with the boys in black suits and my 1950s style dress. Lucky me, one third of Ava Event Styling, The Boutique Baking Company, had decorated her stall all with yellow and she felt it was the perfect colour for Autumn! They are going to send me a link to a blog with a yellow wedding and also said I should definitely look at OMG I’m Getting Married to see yellow with black – I have done – BEAUTIFUL! I’m hopefully going to set up a meeting with the ladies to discuss plans further.

I fell in love with their silver candelabra adorned with glass baubles containing roses and I loved the version with pearls in their book. Inspiration! Inspiration! Inspiration!

AND….I was introduced to CAKE BOMBS!!

I’m a happy bride to be  ♥

Much love

Bx

From my iPhone - DVB Programme

From my iPhone - Ava Event Styling Candelabra

From my iPhone - DVB Goodies

11 Responses to "Inspiration from the DVB Show."

Oh wow honey this all looks great! It’s coming together!!!!
XO
Sam

Thank you! I’m feeling mega excited! Hope you’re well, Sam xx

How nice were the cake bombs i wish there had been a couple more in the goodie bags 🙂 i also went to the national at the Nec yesturday a it wasn’t a patch on the vintage.

Thanks for the compliment Nikki, we know it’s a much more fun show than the nec so glad you agree 🙂 and thanks Sam for the photo of the show guide glad you enjoyed the show, keep up the great blogging work! x

Glad you enjoyed Delish cake pops! Like the new name you’ve given them lol! xx

Haha I got the name wrong! I think they do look like little cake bombs! I may stick with that name 🙂 They were delicious thank you and it was fab to meet you! X

Hey I see my beer mat, thanks for stopping by! Happy planning. Jx

Thanks so much! It was great to meet you, your products are fabulous 🙂 xx

[…] About Me Inspiration from the DVB Show. […]

Hi B, thanks for stopping by and enjoying some strawberry bonbons! Wishing you the very best for your wedding planning. Oh, and my husband had a 3 tier pork-pie cake to put his stamp on our day! Ruth

Hi Ruth! Thanks so much! Your strawberry bonbons were lovely and I loved the pop-up shop! xxx

Please feel free to leave a nice reply :)

Follow my tweets @LoveYouBlog

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

