loveyoueverything

Me and Him (2).

Posted on: October 30, 2011

This weekend we celebrated our 4th anniversary of getting together and our 2nd anniversary of getting engaged. I can’t believe how time has flown by and I can’t believe how truly lucky I am.

G and I knew each other when we were about 13 years old. He was part of a drama group that I joined and we had a friendship that lasted a few shows and one lovely summer. My little cousins used to live near to where G lived and I would babysit as a part time job during the day. It would be so much fun, sat out in the garden with all the young neighbours and playing games with the kids. I really wasn’t much older than the children I was looking after but I was obviously trusted to be sensible enough to sit with them!! G found out I’d be there most days and used to come and visit. I still remember my little cousin and I showing him a dance we had made up to ‘Just Can’t Wait to Be King’ from the Lion King. We were so cool.

So, what I didn’t realise back then was that G had a crush on me. I’ve never been very good at spotting other people’s feelings toward me. I’m more of a person who thinks that people are pretending to like me and that secretly they find me really annoying. Anyway, that’s a whole different story. Where was I?

Ok, so he tells me he had a crush on me and that he took me on a date. Cue confused face. A date? Really? When we were 13?? Yes, his Dad supposedly drove us to the local cinema to watch Legends of the Fall and it was a date. Ok, ok, I remember going to the cinema but not on a date! He obviously needed to work on his wooing skills!! The main thing I remember from that summer with G is sitting on a bus with him and him telling me I had the skinniest wrists he’d ever seen. Smooth.

So, fast forward 17 years and us being reunited through Facebook. I was just seeing the light of day out of a terrible break-up and was enjoying life living by myself in Leicester. A very persistent G, through Facebook, Instant Messenger, texts and calls led to me finally believe that maybe he was interested in me. He came to visit me and we went on a date. It was fabulous. I got horribly drunk and ate too much pizza. But we never stopped talking. Not once. We played the Question Game to try to catch up on the last 17 years. I learnt that he was well-travelled, sociable, ambitious and so very kind. He was cool, funny and clever. He was gorgeous.

4 years on and I still feel the same way about him. I am amazed that I know how much he loves me and I know it sounds daft but I’m still amazed that we’re so happy! Surely we should annoy each other by now?? Nope!! We don’t! In fact, I am excited every day to get home to see him. I can’t believe it.

I am so lucky. Thank you, G. Thank you for being you.

Bx

p.s I wanted to set out the lyrics to a song he sent to me when we first started seeing each other. We’ll be incorporating them into the wedding next year.

As I walk, up a street
I lift my head up and I face you.
You look good, and you smell sweet,
It makes it harder to embrace you.
And I was back in primary
in a playground I would chase you.
But I’m not, I’m just me,
I know you might be what I’m looking for.

But my head won’t function properly
and my feet don’t move in time
and next week I’ll forget probably,
but today, you blow my mind.

And as we talk, I go all red
And I’m feeling like a school kid
All these thoughts, that fill my head
I bet I’ll say something stupid.
Just play it cool, and keep it calm
And remember what your mother said
Now boy, just use your charm
But all that good advice gets lost somewhere

Cos my mouth just won’t work right today
all my head is full with lines
If only I could find the words to say
We could spend a lifetime.

The Rifles

Please feel free to leave a nice reply :)

Follow my tweets @LoveYouBlog

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

